M&A Competition Sets Smith Apart

November 1st, 2011 by under Only at Smith. No Comments.

M&A Competition Winners with Dean Anandalingam

M&A Competition Winners with Dean Anandalingam

The Smith School has many elements that set it apart from other Business Schools.  One such element is the Mergers and Acquisitions (M&A) Competition.  The Smith School Finance Association organizes the M&A Competition, and Finance Association President Rick Spadero says it is the only competition of its kind on the east coast.

Every year, teams from business schools across the US receive a company profile and decide whether or not the company should be acquired.  The teams receive the profile on one day and work long into the night, pitching their decision to a panel of industry professionals the following day.  At the end of the competition, the judges award $5,000 to the team with the best pitch.

The M&A Competition brings together everything students do while they are in business school.  It requires, among other skills, an understanding of the financial techniques for valuing a company and also the nuances behind the strategy of why one company should want to acquire another company.

The 2011 M&A Competition was held on Friday, October 21, 2011 and featured teams from our neighbors at GW and Georgetown.  Teams came from as far away as UCLA.  In total, 10 teams competed this year.  Top honors went to UVA’s Darden School of Business.

2011 Participants
Carnegie Mellon University’s Tepper School of Business
Georgetown University’s McDonough School of Business
Indiana University’s Kelley School of Business
Purdue University’s Krannert School of Management
Texas A&M University’s Mays Business School
The George Washington University School of Business
UCLA Anderson School of Management
University of Maryland’s Robert H. Smith School of Business
University of Virginia’s Darden School of Business

Previous Winners
2010: Notre Dame’s Mendoza School of Business
2009: New York University’s Stern School of Business
2008: Chicago GSB
2007: Columbia Business School